Reviews - By customers and in the press

Ritu and Ven (20/09/2010) says...

Just wanted to say a huge thank you for making our day so special.you were all amazing at every stage and were the best

 

CC, Altrincham (22/02/2009) says....

Excellent, as always. I have been an admirer of Dilli since it opened and their standards have never slipped. Several other Indian restaurants have been and gone (most under-cutting Dilli on price), but Dilli has endured. True class always survives, it has a loyal customer base for good reason.

Mr And Mrs Mehta (27/08/2008) says....

We had our silver wedding celebrations at Dilli in May. I don't kow from where to start. From the first meeting, every thing was unbelievable. Mr. Ravi made us comfortable and went through our requirements. He gave us excellent suggestions and made us feel as if a family member was helping us in making our day memorable. There was no end to his hospitality. On the day the staff were like family members eager to solve our demands with a smile. The food was unbelievable and our special requirement of Jain food was the best in Manchester. We had vegetarian menu which till today, I have not tasted anywhere. Our guest can still linger the taste and never forget to comment when we talk of organizing any other events.

Chris, Altrincham (25/07/2008) says....

Dilli has to be the finest Indian restaurant I know. I've been far too many times and the food has always been exceptional - a real taste of what Indian cuisine should be. Service is great and the restaurant has a really nice atmosphere.

Marjorie , Wirral (09/07/2008) says....

Being a lucky winner of June Onionring competition my husband and I won a meal courtesy of Dilli. It was a fair way to travel in the pouring rain but well worth the effort. Everyone was very pleasant and the food was obviously well sourced in terms of quality and expertly cooked to bring out the flavours. I would definitely recommend the Lamb Chops Baluchi. Thanks for a great meal.

julie heyes (04/07/2008) says....

I am always a little nervous eating out because I cannot eat anything containing gluten. Very helpful and even made a special bread for me from gram flour to soak up all the lovely juices!

Russ (27/03/2008) says....

Six members of Trafford Curry Club visited Dilli at 8pm on Thursday 27th March. They were doing a special two for one meal offer and the place was heaving. We had poppadums,mixed starters of sheek kebabs and battered fish ( absolutely delicious ). Six different main courses all well prepared and served in perfect condition. With wine and beer the bill came to £138 but that was with £42 discount knocked off. All in all we were mightily impressed. Dilli is dearer than most other Indian restaurants we have visited in the Manchester/ Cheshire area but you can't beat it for good quality delicious food. The finest Indian restaurant in Trafford Borough with its only main rival being the Masala Lounge in Sale. We have no hesitation in rating this restaurant A+.

Neil, Warrington (15/02/2008) says....

One of the best meals I have ever had. Wonderful attentive service. Perfect!!

Si (17/12/2007) says....

This place never disappoints, always good food. Can get busy and service might drop slightly but that is just being picky! Would recommend to all.

Andrea V, Altrincham (14/06/2007) says....

What a fantastic meal. The best Indian I have had, and actually quiet different to most other Indian restaurants. Good service, decent portions but best of all fantastic flavours. Proper Indian food and it was great.

Tony, Lymm (17/04/2007) says....

To me this is still the best Indian restaurant around. Stylish and modern, serving non-typical Indian dishes, give it a try I love it.

The Times (30/11/2006) says....

10 Top Indian Restaurants

This new-wave, smartly styled restaurant is famous for being the first Ayurvedic restaurant outside of London. The interesting contemporary menuentices with typical dishes including mussles hara masala (flavoured with curry leaves and lemongrass) and methi machchi tikka (salmon flavoured with fenugreek, cloves and yogurt cheese marinade before being char-grilled) and Hyderabadi bhuna ghost (pot-roasted spring lamb). Vegetarians get a huge, beyond -the-usual choice, with dishes such as a tremendous aubergine cooked in a chilli peanut butter and yogurt sauce. Breads deserve a special mention for being fluffy, buttery and first-rate, and include a wholewheat roti, kulcha and a mint flavoured paratha.

You can also enjoy watching the kitchen through a viewing window, but have patience with the slow service when its busy.

Jo, Macclesfield (19/11/2006) says....

Visited last night - party of 12. Arrived at 8.40pm received Starters at 10pm and main course at 11.15pm. Not enough menus were given out and they didn't explain the menu well. Food was very good but shame about service!

Joanne, Cheadle (06/11/2006) says....

By far the best Indian food I have ever tasted and one of (if not)the best meal out I have ever had. Will definitely be back soon.

Naomi, Timperley (23/09/2006) says....

Attended a private function at Dilli last week, the food was gorgeous and we could not fault the service.


Liezl - Altrincham (03/04/2006) says....

Fantastic! Whenever we go we are treated like royalty. We have been to Dilli so many times since it opened and the food is consistently excellent, the staff friendly and the decor smart, but understated. This is certainly no "curry house". I think this would have to be my favourite restaurant in Alty ... perhaps in the UK ... perhaps even in the world!

Clive, Altrincham (11/03/2006) says....

Been for an evening meal, Sunday Lunch and and an Altrincham & Sale Chamber of Commerce introduction evening. The seafood was wonderful, great service and a good selection of wine and beer. This is not your normal Indian Restaurant and as the food is all freshly cooked, dont be in a rush. Upmarket, also reflected in the price.


Tom, Manchester (31/01/2006) says....

Only been once at lunchtime, but staff were friendly and food was fantastic - even the naan bread tastes fresher and better than other Indian restaurants! Worth a try - check out their website too as you get a discount voucher for signing up to their mailing list.


Laura, Wilmslow (13/12/2005) says....

Wonderful food! Found out about this place via this website (we live abroad) - what a treat! Will definately be back, fab service and a great menu. Keep up the good work!


Nick, Macclesfieold (02/12/2005) says....

Cannot praise it too highly.
We arrived at what we admit was an unreasonable time and were greeted in a friendly manner.
We also had a guide dog with us that was made welcome - very rare with Indian restaurants.
The food was first class.
Without a doubt this is the best Indian in the north-west.


Matt, Alty (11/11/2005) says....

Could be the best Indian restaurant in the UK, I know of only one that is it's equal, extermely tasty, delicate imaginative dishes, modernist decor, service second to none... essential.


Dan, Hale (28/09/2005) says....

Service, food and decor all first class. Starters were fantastic. Certainly one of the best Indian meals I have had.


Brian,stockport (31/08/2005) says....

good food,good selection of seafood,and good selection of wine which goes well with food, good service to compliment with.


wimslow (18/08/2005) says....

truely a real taste of india,i am a regular,this one is better than one in hale.wish dilli all the best and hope they will keep the standard the service staff is realy good,and well presented


sharma (17/08/2005) says....

I took my family to dilli for lunch few months back,that day was a great day.I can say the food was 'wow'...real indian taste. Even the decor was very simple, not hosh-posh, you feel you want to go again and again. Service is nice, I do not who is chef there but he knows the right combination of spices. thanks chef.


Steven, Altrincham (11/08/2005) says....

We went to try Dilli last night as they had a good offer on with onionring.
The restaurant is modern..not like most Indian restaurants. The service was excellent, food wasn't just baltis, kormas etc it was different. real Indian food. Some of the best I've had. Nice touches aswell like a free appreative each before the starters.
Certainly is one of the best around.


Onionring (01/08/2005) says....

Is this the best Indian restaurant in the North West?

Dilli claims to provide Vintage Indian Cuisine, real Indian food cooked the traditional way using wholesome and fresh produce and recipes dating back generations.
I don't know about that but the food is excellent and certainly a class apart from your average Indian restaurant.

For a start the menu itself is different. There are about 6 starters – such as scallops, whitebait etc – and then a choice of about 10 Kebabs and 10 Curries using prawns, lobster, guinea fowl, Monkfish, lamb, Chicken and other meats in addition to fruits and vegetarian options. Each recipe is different with the spices designed to bring out the best flavours. These are accompanied by vegetables – but not what we'd expect – such as flavoured cottage cheese, corn pickled with lime and honey, traditional dal and the list goes on... This food is diverse!

After poppadoms and chutney - a much more delicate dish than the norm, and a complimentary vegetable samosa - on it's own as good as starters elsewhere, we started with a crisp whitebait and a corn kebab fried with pomegranate and pepper. Excellent!

This was followed by an assorted kebab platter which included various meats and fish but had perhaps the most succulent lamb chop I've ever tasted. We combined this with a spicy rogan josh and a Murgh Handi Lazeez (chicken in a creamy yogurt and garlic – one definitely for the taste buds) along with a stuffed nan and Dal Makhani, a black lentil delicacy. Again excellent – but far too much food!
Despite this my colleague still managed a Rasmaian, an Indian cheese dish which helped to cool the palate.

Overall the food was superb and we'll be back sometime to try even more of the exciting dishes we missed.

The restaurant location is central to Altrincham. The decor is modern with wooden floors. The service is attentive and informative. The Cobra beers were nicely chilled. And the bill was very reasonable.

If you want a change from your average Indian or you just want a really good meal, this is the place.

The best Indian in the North West? Probably.

Terry, Onionring.co.uk

Sales (18/07/2005) says....

Excellent service and the meals are well above the average Indian

S.J, Altrincham (06/06/2005) says....

Styish & modern. Not your normal indian restaurant. The food is slightly more than average but the quality is very good. Good service aswell.


Dilli, 60 Stamford New Road, Altrincham, Cheshire WA14 1EE
Tel: 0161 929 7484/0161 927 9219

Read reviews from...